Costumes!

Share your art with us!
YoungStudentMarius

Costumes!

Postby YoungStudentMarius » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:33 am

So...after close on four months as a part of this brilliant forum, I have learned a lot. Including, thanks to you all, how to use a computer! :mrgreen: Which means I can now post photos. And now, after a long time of promising to share pics of my Enjolras costume, I have finally succeeded.

Hope you like them! I've made several Les Mis costumes now, so there'll be plenty more pictures later, I hope. Um...I should probably let you know I sew pretty much everything without patterns. And by hand, with a needle and thread. So if it looks awkward, it's because I'm kind of new to this.

Here's the vest itself. It's not quite as reflective in real life.

Here's some of the detail on it. Altogether, there are around 75 gold dome buttons I sewed on, and a whole lot of braiding.

You can also open up the gold sections in the center a little and show some darker red fabric insides.

Now, the costume all together:

The scarf was some black cloth I hemmed on both sides, and the tricolor sash I also made. Oh, and I kind of raided the storage closet and found away to unscrew the handle from a mop for the flag. It's actually pretty large and rather fun to wave in the air.

I hand-sewed the shirt, too, from an old sheet. It has large, billowy sleeves that are rolled up just past the elbow. It's actually quite comfortable and fun to walk around town in. :wink:

Thanks, guys! Hope you like it. It was remarkably fun to make, actually, and the world just seems a little better sometimes if you walk around in an Enjolras vest. :wink: And what Miz-fit hasn't wanted one? And random challenging projects are just...fun.
Our chimeras are the things which most resemble us. Each of us dreams of the unknown and the impossible in accordance with his nature.

AriadneIS

Re: Costumes!

Postby AriadneIS » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:41 am