Grand R and the Seven Amis

Share your stories with us!
WhoIam

Grand R and the Seven Amis

Postby WhoIam » Wed Jun 26, 2013 7:22 pm

I'm just going to see how this works out, as it's my first attempt at a) AU, b)a full-length story, and c) anything about Les Amis. As this is the prologue, I wrote it in that fancy fairy-tale style. If you think the entire fic should be written this way, just the prologue, or perhaps none of it at all in this fashion, please let me know. And also, should I continue it or keep it to myself? *clicks submit before she can change her mind*

PROLOGUE

Once upon a time, in a kingdom far, far away, there lived a maiden named Fantine. She was very fair, her hair seeming to be woven from the rays of the sun, and she was possessed of teeth which poets likened to pearls. Men came from miles away to ask her hand in marriage, but Fantine was beloved of a college student named Félix Tholomyès, who never spoke to her of marriage. The young maiden's father, exasperated with her stubborn refusal to wed, agreed with the King of that kingdom to have Fantine marry him.
Fantine was distraught, for King Thénardier was old, and unattractive. However, her father insisted, and Fantine was wed. The ceremony was swift, and it was not long before Fantine found she was with child.
One night, she was sewing by the window so that she could admire the freshly fallen snow. Quite by accident, she pricked her finger on the needle. As she watched, three drops of blood fell onto the ebony windowsill. She smiled, enchanted by the play of the three colors together. She murmered, “Oh, how I wish that I had a child that is as white as snow, with lips as red as blood, and hair as black as ebony.”